Current appointment: Professor of Palaeobiology
August 2012 - July 2014 Reader in Palaeobiology
August 2010 - July 2012 Senior Lecturer in Palaeobiology
October 2005 - July 2010: Lecturer in Palaeobiology
School of Earth Sciences, University of Bristol, UK.

Previous appointments
Jan 2005 - Sept 2005 Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Palaeontology, Natural History Museum, London.
Oct 2002 - Sept 2005 Junior Research Fellow, Emmanuel College and Dept. Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge
Apr 2002 - Dec 2002 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford

Tertiary Education
Dec. 2001: PhD Palaeontology. Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge.
June 1996: BA (Hons) Biological Sciences, First Class. Hertford College, University of Oxford.

Recent Awards

2011 Lyell Fund, The Geological Society
[awarded to contributors to the Earth sciences on the basis of noteworthy published research, under the age of 40]
Hodson Award, The Palaeontological Association
[awarded to a palaeontologist under the age of 35 who has made an outstanding early contribution to the science]

Professional activities
2016 onwards Vice President, Society Vertebrate Paleontology
2016 onwards Vice President, The Palaeontological Association
2013 onwards: Editorial Board, Nature Scientific Reports
2011 onwards: Executive Committee member, International Society of Vertebrate Morphology
2011 onwards: Editorial Board, Journal of Vertebrate Paleontology
2011-2013: Royal Society Newton International Fellowships, Panel Member
2011-2013: Publicity Officer, The Palaeontological Association
2008-2010: Committee Member, The Palaeontological Association
2007-2011: Program Committee, Society of Vertebrate Paleontology

  • 2014-2017 MRC standard grant, Co-I with Chrissy Hammond (PI: Bristol) Biomechanical characterisation on joints in osteoarthritis mutant zebrafish; studying interactions between genotype and biomechanics in osteoarthritis. £418K.
  • 2013-2016 NERC standard grant, Lead PI with Michael Fagan (Co-PI Hull) Functional evolution of the mammalian middle ear and jaw joint across the cynodont-mammaliaform transition. £379K.
  • 2012-2015 EU Marie Curie Incoming Fellowship award. PI: Rayfield, Fellow: Dr LB Porro. Tetrapods rising: form, function and feeding across the land-water transition. £180K.
  • 2011-2014 BBSRC Standard Grant. Lead PI with Sam Cobb (Co-PI University of York) and J Marugán-Lobón (Madrid). The morphofunctional evolution of bird beaks and skulls. £330K.
  • 2009-2012 Teeth and jaws: evolutionary emergence of a model organogenic system and the adaptive radiation of gnathostomes. NERC standard grant, Co-I with P Donoghue, M Purnell & Z Johanson. £320K.
  • 2009–2012 Diversity of the masticatory apparatus among extant rodents: 3D analysis and modelling of form and function. NERC standard grant, Co-PI with N Jeffrey & M Fagan.
  • 2009–2011 Marie Curie Incoming Fellowship award. PI: Rayfield, Fellow: Dr PS Anderson. The cutting edge: insights from biomechanical tooth studies to explore the interaction of ecological diversity and evolutionary convergence. €181K
  • 2007–2009 Royal Society Incoming US Fellowship. PI: Rayfield, fellowship awarded to Dr PS Anderson. The evolution of feeding in the earliest jawed vertebrates. £82K
  • 2006–2009 NERC New Investigators Award. PI: Rayfield. Cranial functional morphology of Archaeopteryx and the biomechanical triggers of avian evolution. £83.5K
  • 2006–2009 NERC Small Grant. PI: Rayfield. Applying synchrotron X-ray microtomography to a study of Morganucodon and Kuehneotherium: two of the earliest stem mammals. £50K
  • 2006–2007 Royal Society Research Grant. PI: Rayfield. How accurately can Finite Element models replicate strain in-vitro in the avian mandible? £15K
  • 2002–2005 Emmanuel College Research Fellowship, Cambridge University. The evolution of cranial form across the theropod-bird transition. £55K

Significant awards under £10,000

  • 2007–2008 Institute for Advanced Studies Visiting Benjamin Meaker Professorship. Applicant: Rayfield; Visiting Professor Christine Janis, Brown University.
  • 2007 Nuffield Undergraduate Research Bursary.
  • 2006 Institute for Advanced Studies Fast Track Benjamin Meaker Small Grant Scheme Fellowship. Visiting Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan, University of Cape Town.
  • 2006–2008 Nuffield New Lecturers Award.
  • 2003–2004 Royal Society Equipment Grant.